Censure motion against government defeated by 156 votes against, 143 in favour

A censure motion against the government tabled by main opposition SYRIZA-Progressive Alliance leader Alexis Tsipras and his party was defeated in a vote on Friday, with 156 votes against and 143 in favour.

A total of 299 MPs participated in the roll-call vote following a three-day discussion. The independent MP Andreas Patsis was absent.

The censure motion was voted on by an open roll-call vote.

The government, which has a 156-seat absolute majority in the house, was expected to defeat the censure motion, which required an absolute majority of all MPs, or 150+1 votes to pass. The MPs could vote in favour, against or abstain, while they could also submit postal votes that are sent to the presidency and count toward the total.

The 34-hour debate concluded with the speeches of the political party leaders and Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis.