New ministers in caretaker government announced ahead of June 25 elections in Greece

The list of caretaker government ministers that will take over for a month leading into a second round of elections on June 25 was announced on Thursday afternoon.

The key ministries of Defense and Foreign Affairs will be headed respectively by former chief of the Army General Staff and former Deputy Minister, General Alkiviadis Stefanis, and Ambassador (ret.) Vassilis Kaskarelis. Former chief of Army General Staff, General Charalambos Lalousis, will head the Citizen Protection Ministry, while journalist Ilias Siakantaris will take over as government spokesperson.

The new cabinet will be sworn in before Hellenic Republic President Katerina Sakellaropoulou and newly appointed Prime Minister Ioannis Sarmas at 12:00 on Friday (May 26).


Prime Minister: Ioannis Sarmas
State Minister: Vasilios Skouris
Finance Minister: Theodoros Pelagidis
Development and Investments Minister: Eleni Louri
Foreign Affairs Minister: Vasilios Kaskarelis
National Defense Minister: Alkiviadis Stefanis
Education and Religion Minister: Christos Kittas
Labor and Social Affairs Minister: Patrina Paparrigopoulou
Health Minister: Anastasia Kotanidou
Environment and Energy Minister: Pantelis Kapros
Citizen Protection Minister: Charalambos Lalousis
Culture and Sports Minister: George Koumentakis
Justice Minister: Filippos Spyropoulos
Interior Minister: Kalliopi Spanou
Migration and Asylum Minister: Daniil Esdras
Digital Governance Minister: Sokratis Katsikas
Infrastructure and Transport Minister: Yiannis Golias
Shipping and Island Policy Minister: Theodoros Kliaris
Agricultural Development and Foods Minister: Georgios Tsakiris
Tourism Minister: Ioanna Dretta
Climate Crisis and Civil Protection Minister: Evangelos Tournas
Government spokesperson: Ilias Siakantaris

(Updated to add Infrastructure minister)