Karanicolas awarded for teaching excellence – Ομογενής καθηγήτρια Πανεπιστημίου από τις καλύτερες της Αυστραλίας

Sophie Karanicolas was awarded for her teaching excellence at the 2013 Australian Awards for University Teaching this week.
Senator Scott Ryan, the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education, congratulated the Senior lecturer at the University of Adelaide and all 13 prize winning teachers for their outstanding work.

Senior Lecturer at the Dental School of the Univeristy of Adelaide Sophie Karanicolas.

Senior Lecturer at the Dental School of the Univeristy of Adelaide Sophie Karanicolas.

Ms Karanicolas and her colleague Catherine Snelling – who also won the award for their team efforts – work together in the University of Adelaide’s Dental School. There they have developed a successful teaching partnership focusing on interactive online learning modules.
Their initiative has been acknowledged by the academic community proven by the number of local and national teaching awards they have received over the years.
“Maintaining quality in tertiary education is our No 1 priority and with these exceptional teachers and programs we will continue to expand our international education reputation.” Senator Scott Ryan said at the awards ceremony.
Sophie has been teaching for more than 20 years and has been a Senior Lecturer since 2004.

Η ομογενής καθηγήτρια Σοφία Καρανικόλα, λέκτορας του Πανεπιστημίου Αδελαΐδας, είναι μεταξύ των 12 πανεπιστημιακών δασκάλων που βραβεύτηκαν από τον πρωθυπουργό για την ποιότητα των υπηρεσιών που προσφέρουν στην ακαδημαϊκή κοινότητα.

Η κ. Καρανικόλα είναι λέκτορας Οδοντιατρικής του εν λόγω Πανεπιστημίου και αυτή δεν είναι η πρώτη φορά που βραβεύεται για την αφοσίωση και τη σκληρή δουλειά της. Το 2010 η κ. Καρανικόλα έλαβε ανάλογο έπαινο και από το Αυστραλιανό Συμβούλιο Διδασκαλίας και Μάθησης.

Το μάθημα που διδάσκει η ομογενής λέκτορας είναι αυτό της Στοματικής Υγείας.
Τον τίτλο του Καθηγητή Πανεπιστημίου της χρονιάς πήρε φέτος ο John Croucher, καθηγητής του Τμήματος Μεταπτυχιακών Σπουδών Διοίκησης του Πανεπιστημίου Macquarie.

Τα συγκεκριμένα βραβεία δίνονται σε ακαδημαϊκούς όλης της χώρας και τα κριτήρια πάνω στα οποία αποφασίζονται οι νικητές σχετίζονται όχι μόνο με την επιτυχία των φοιτητών τους αλλά και με την ανάπτυξη διδακτικού υλικού εκ μέρους των καθηγητών σε συνάρτηση με το κατά πόσο αυτό επιτυγχάνει την ενεργή συμμετοχή των φοιτητών στον τομέα της έρευνας μέσω μεταπτυχιακών σπουδών.